São Paulo

Brazilian teams not to face each other in Libertadores group stage

For the first time in 10 years, Brazilian teams will not face each other in the initial phase of the Copa Libertadores. The bracket draw was held at the headquarters of the South American Football Confederation (Conmebol) in Asuncion, Paraguay, on Monday night (Mar. 18).

The country will be represented by seven clubs in the competition, three of which hail from Rio de Janeiro. Fluminense, the reigning champions, are placed in Group A alongside Cerro Porteño (Paraguay), Alianza Lima (Peru), and Colo-Colo (Chile). Matches are scheduled to commence in the first week of April.

Three-time Libertadores champions São Paulo are in Group B, alongside Barcelona (Ecuador), Talleres (Argentina), and Cobresal (Chile).

Grêmio will be aiming for their fourth continental title this year. The team from Rio Grande do Sul has been drawn in Group C, which includes Estudiantes (Argentina) —winners of four titles—The Strongest (Bolivia), and Huachipato (Chile).

After a seven-year hiatus, Botafogo returns to the main stage of the Libertadores after securing a place in the preliminary round. They are aiming for an unprecedented title in the tournament, in Group D, alongside LDU (Ecuador), Universitario (Peru), and Junior Barranquilla (Colombia).

Three-time Americas champions Flamengo will compete against Bolívar (Bolivia), Millonarios (Colombia), and Palestino (Chile).

Like Flamengo, Palmeiras dreams of winning their fourth title. They are in Group F, alongside Independiente Del Valle (Ecuador), San Lorenzo (Argentina), and San Lorenzo (Argentina).

Atlético Mineiro, meanwhile, will compete in the first phase in Group G, which also includes five-time champions Peñarol (Uruguay), Rosario Central (Argentina), and Caracas (Venezuela).

Finally, Group H brings together exclusively foreign teams: River Plate (Argentina), Libertad (Paraguay), Deportivo Táchira (Venezuela), and Nacional (Uruguay).

Competition format

Only the top two teams in the group stage will advance to the Libertadores Round of 16. The third-placed team will compete in this year’s Copa Sudamericana.

In addition to lifting the Libertadores Cup, the 2024 champion will receive $33.05 million in prize. This amount is higher than last year, as Conmebol increased the prize for the tournament’s winner from $18 million to $23 million.

The title decider is scheduled for November 20 at the Monumental de Núñez, River Plate’s stadium in Buenos Aires, Argentina.


Artigos relacionados

Deixe um comentário

O seu endereço de e-mail não será publicado. Campos obrigatórios são marcados com *

Botão Voltar ao topo